Select Page

ESF’s Board of Directors


The full board meets approximately once a month via teleconference to review ongoing programmes, new initiatives and to oversee operations. The ESF board also meets for an annual strategic planning session at least once a year. In 2008, the board established an Operations Committee, comprised of a core group of Board members and the Foundation’s Administrative Director, to review the business affairs of the organization on a weekly basis. The Operations Committee also reviews all submitted proposals and forwards those that match our interests and requirements to the full board for final consideration.

Humphrey Tonkin

President & Co-Founder

Professor of Humanities, President Emeritus, University of Hartford, USA.

Anna Bennett

Treasurer (outgoing)

Retired Certified Public Accountant

Mark Fettes


Associate Professor in the Faculty of Education at Simon Fraser University, Canada.

Grant Goodall


Professor of Linguistics, Director of the Linguistics Language Program, University of California, San Diego, USA

Ben Speakmon


Software Engineer

Geoffrey Greatrex


Professor of Classics and Religious Studies, University of Ottawa, Canada.

Derek Roff


Director of the Language Learning Center of University of New Mexico, USA (Retired ).

Wallace G. Du Temple

Director, Investments Officer

Former Principal of the Victor Sammurtuk School, Chesterfield Inlet, Nunavut, Canada.

Esther Schor


Professor of English, Princeton University, USA.